RSS

First Time BSD Meetup

11 Sep

BSD Meetup – Rumah Betawi, Sunday 9th September 2012

So, I planned this several days back, to join the meetup session held by some of the forum members live around the place. I think it’s the farthest meetup I ever attended. So, I went to the meetup driving my car with a friend in a convoy of 3 cars.We left Jakarta at 11.30 and arrived at the vicinity at 13.00 after taking a detour around the street (D’oh!). We were the first one to arrived, the local boys haven’t showed up yet.

So, after ordering food and drinks, we started the meetup with easy ones, Eminent Domain with 4 players and Felix, Cat in The Sack with 4 Players. Few notes on Eminent Domain, the players are Me, Yongkie, Willys and a new guy (I forget his name). I explained the rules to the players for about 15 minutes and we were ready to go.
Eminent Domain is a game that I like but mostly I never played it well before. I always ended up last. But I said “Not Today!”. I played several survey role and gain couple of Fertile Planets along with Advanced and Prestige planets along the way. I chose to colonize than conquest planets and tried to get into producing resources as fast as I can.  The new guy kinda moved slow, since he was too focusing on survey roles. I was the first one to produce resource and gain the first technology card. My objective was to gain several planets that producing several types of goods and research technology card that give +1 influence point for each different type of resources traded. But I made a mistake to judge the planet types, since in order to do that I need 2 Advance planets instead of 1 not 2 Fertile planets. So, it’s kinda bit late to go back to acquire another Advance planet and I decided to get a technology card that gives +1 influence per resource type produced. Willys started to wage war against his planets and this really placed him as the warmonger player in the game. Yongkie also had established quite good planets to produce resources after the colonize role stack was depleted. Time was running out and I need to get my readied resources traded soon, and luckily when Yongkie’s turn triggered the end game (playing Warfare role which depleted the stack) I was able to do one final turn to trade my goods for 3 influences. I won the game with 17 points (12 points from planets plus 2 points from technology and 3 points from the goods), followed by Willys with 12 points, Yongkie came up third and the new guy end up last with only 4 points.

While playing Eminent Domain, the local boys showed up, it’s Tommy and followed by James and his girl and also Ivan. They started Tournay session with 3 players. After the game, we decided to break the group into 2 groups with 9 players of The Resistance and 4 Players of Trajan. I lead the Trajan session, while Ali lead The Resistance. During the Trajan session, I had to explain the rules again to Yongkie and Ivan, since they’re new to the game. It’s been a rough day since my throat was quite sore at the moment. So, I drew 1 VP / worker bonus tile, this mainly set a goal for me. The game was tense and very AP, but it’s pretty much slow than the normal, since most players often took 1 or 2 actions per turn. Once, Willys took 10 actions in a single turn, very devastating effect but fortunately the timing was not perfect to cut other players move. Willys focused on the Seaport action from the mid-game, accumulated very distinctive result on his personal display compared to other players, got 27 points in total just from the bonus tiles on cards. Combined with the bonus tiles, he was the most feared in points by us. Yongkie in the other hand, played pretty good in point track with shipping commodities, 3 different pairs, which boost him up front. Plus he always meet the people’s demands. Ivan took a pretty good amount of points from military actions. I managed to get 7 of my workers on the building, which brought me 30 points in total and also 23 points from 3 times scoring in the provinces. I finished first with 120 points followed right behind by Yongkie with 106 points. Ivan finished in third position around 90 points with 3 points different from Willys in the last place.

Trajan Session – 4 Players Mid Game

Next, while others were playing Alien Frontiers we decided to play 5 player games with Ali as the fifth player. So, First Sparks rose to our mind and we borrowed it from Tommy. And again I had to explain the rules (this is the third time) to Ali since he never play it before. So, grumbled with a sore throat I explained the rules in a blitz and play the game. The initial placement led my clan member surrounded by other players in the middle and expanded the clan into two members in the beginning, just like the others. Though, my position placed me in the last place of the player order. Thus give me the advantage in buying technology card. Things never been easy for me every time I played this game, it was hard to win the game and I often finished last. My ordinary strategy was to control you clan size during the game, since having huge clan size automatically put you in the first place of the turn order (move last in most phases except buying new technology card). So, unfortunately Ivan and Willys just acquired the two Fire technology available in the game. So we expand our clans pretty much slow and Willys had the opportunity to end the game, but we managed to block him out to prolonged the game for another round. That round I managed to get into 12 clan size put me leading temporarily, but  the next round I was barely able to place only one clan member (only with 4 food). Ivan was out of the game since in the last round his clan member was still 7 and the maximum expand was limited to 5 members. So, the gripping battle begun, between Willys and the others, since he posed most serious threat to other players. We kept him contained in previous round, but in the last round 4 players were managed to get into 13 clan members. Ali was the first one who triggered the end game and others followed him to up to 13 clan members. Only Ivan who couldn’t managed to get into 13. So, the tie breaker placed Yongkie in the first place, Me, Ali and Willys behind it and Ivan in the last place. A very tight game with full open table talk. I was lucky to finished in second place.

Battle Ground!

Just in time after First Sparks was ended, it’s already 20.00 PM and I decided to call it a day. So, we say good bye to our fellow gamers (Tommy, James and his girlfriend) which were still playing Felix Cat in The Sack. It’s a very good experience, nice place despite the hot temperature, windy and dusty.

Owner of the game (Daniel Mulia) explaining Alien Frontiers to other players

Photos are courtesy of Ali Tan

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 11, 2012 in Events, Session

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
